Essentials Blue Vineyard 09 Creative Project

“For: The Institute of Contemporary And Emerging Worship Studies, St. Stephen’s University, Essentials Blue Online Worship Theology Course with Dan Wilt.

Below are the lyrics to a song I wrote about creation.  I was struck powerfully by the realization, during this course, that  far too few songs address God’s wondrous beauty and creativity.  What I have here is an attempt to craft something that the gathered community can sing together in a worshipful response to the fact that we have an inheritance in that creativity and beauty.

We are creators and the created.  We both enjoy his creations and jump into the divine dance of creativity.  God as creator has long been one of Christianity’s most well worn descriptors for our Lord.  Mankind’s longing for and recognition of beauty is universally recognized – in both spiritual and secular circles.  So songs that declare that God is the owner and originator of beauty and creativity are bound to stir interest in believers and non-believers in getting to know him.

I do not have a chord charts available or a recording as I am merely a drummer and barely able to put words to a page (cue the laughter).  However, I intend to work with my co-laborers in worship and music to put something together with this for our community.  Since I am already starting the next course, I thought I should get this up even without a recording.

Creator God

Verse:

You are light, you are life

You are beauty glorified

All creation testifies

To the splendor of your eyes

Chorus:

Come all you creatures and sing to our Maker

Jump in the river that flows with his laughter

Dance in the pleasure of the Son and our Father

Shout he is good (and) his love lasts forever

Bridge:

You are the water walker

A tree top stalker

All you made is under your feet

You are the lighting wielder

Broken heart healer

Alleluia to the King of Kings

3 responses to “Essentials Blue Vineyard 09 Creative Project

  1. Benjamin –

    Strong lyrics – I found myself beginning to sing them as I read through the chorus.

    Thanks for being willing to post this – I’d love to hear what comes of it.

  2. Thanks for sharing your lyrics. I especially love this line: “Jump in the river that flows with his laughter…”

    Such a rich image!

  3. Yep I agree with Donny
    It has a very rythmical feel to the phrases (hardly surprising though) Get some music around those words and she’ll fly you know.

Leave a Reply

